Macaroni and Cheese

Who doesn’t love macaroni and cheese? When my kids had friends over, I always included mac n cheese in the menu because I knew I would have something everybody liked. I’ll have to admit, it was always out of a box. It seems that I attempt homemade mac n cheese every holiday and it never turns out the same. Until now, I haven’t made a homemade version that I like. Not that I don’t have a long line of aunts that can make the best macaroni and cheese ever. That skill has just skipped me. I do remember one Thanksgiving a few years ago, I was doing Weight Watchers, and I found a recipe for Weight Watchers Macaroni and Cheese. It was the best version of homemade macaroni and cheese that I had ever made. I fell off the Weight Watchers wagon and I didn’t make it anymore. I don’t know why because it was delicious, and much healthier than other versions. Fast forward a few years and I’ve fallen in love with Weight Watchers and a healthier lifestyle. We also have better products to adapt our recipes with and the result is an awesome macaroni and cheese that will please the entire family. I think it is a good marriage of a traditional hashbrown casserole and mac and cheese. It’s not ooey and gooey like Aunt Martha’s, but it’s a good substitute for those weeknight meals. I like to pair it with a lighter entree such as grilled chicken or fish to stay on track with my Weight Watchers plan. Give this recipe a try the next time your family gets together. I think you might just like this healthier version too. Oh, and you can always let Aunt Martha make hers for Thanksgiving!😉

Macaroni and Cheese

8 oz dry macaroni (cooked )

2 tablespoons finely diced onion

1 cup nonfat Greek yogurt

3/4 cup plain almond milk

1 cup fat free cottage cheese

2 cups reduced fat sharp cheddar

2 eggs beaten

1 tablespoon melted butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

Cook macaroni according to package directions and then combine the remaining ingredients. You can save 1/2 cup of the cheese to sprinkle on top of the macaroni later. I just added mine all at one time. Pour into a well sprayed 9×13 baking dish. Bake covered at 350 for 45 minutes. Remove the foil and sprinkle with the remaining cheese. Return to the oven for 15 minutes. Enjoy!

Serves 12 @ 5SP

Leave a comment