Chicken and Dumplings

Is there anything that takes you back home anymore than Chicken and Dumplings? My mother-in-law made the best! I have created this simple recipe that comes out great every time. The best compliment I ever got on them was one time I had taken them to a dinner, and my husband’s aunt said she had been looking for the little old lady that made the dumplins. The best part about this recipe is that it is a healthier version than we were raised on. Give this recipe a try and step back in time to an old family favorite.

Chicken and Dumplings

1 pound cooked chicken breast shredded

4 cups chicken broth ( I use the water I cooked the chicken in)

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 package of Pioneer Country Gravy mix

Dough Recipe

1/2 cup self rising flour

1/2 cup plain nonfat Greek yogurt

Heat chicken broth, add cream of chicken soup and gravy mix into broth. Bring to a boil. Add chicken, mix yogurt and flour to make a dough. Drop by teaspoons full into rolling broth. Reduce heat to low. Cook 20 minutes covered. Take lid off and stir in chicken.

Weight Watchers : Makes 4 – 1 cup servings @6 SP each.

Leave a comment